Molecular and genetic epidemiology

Definition: Analysis of the environmental and genetic determinants of diseases, with the application of high-throughput genetic techniques and molecular techniques, within large-size epidemiologic studies. Molecular investigations aim to identify early or precursor markers of chronic diseases and to assess the internal exposures to toxic substances (e.g. carcinogenic genotoxins).

Innovative aspects: In the light of the new molecular knowledge on the human genome, genetic epidemiology examines the interactions between genetic susceptibility and environmental exposures. Molecular epidemiology examines the pathways following exposure of the organism to toxic substances (e.g. carcinogens), up to the induction of early damage or disease.

Added value: Using the output of highly specialized laboratories, genetic and molecular epidemiology are a complement of epidemiologic investigations, aiming at the identification of the environmental causes of disease and the underlying mechanisms.

Head of Unit: Paolo Vineis
Phone: +39 0116709541
paolo.vineis@hugef-torino.org
Download Paolo Vineis's CV

Research Group

HuGeF staff

Alessio Naccarati, Senior Researcher - alessio.naccarati@hugef-torino.org
Silvia Polidoro, Senior Researcher - silvia.polidoro@hugef-torino.org
Sabrina Bertinetti, Project Assistant - sabrina.bertinetti@hugef-torino.org
Rossana Critelli, PhD Student / Researcher - rossana.critelli@hugef-torino.org
Laura Zini, Technician Senior - laura.zini@hugef-torino.org
Manuela Bianca Assumma, Laboratory Technician - manuelabianca.assumma@hugef-torino.org

Collaborator: Carlotta Sacerdote - carlotta.sacerdote@cpo.it

Ongoing Projects:
1. Integration of environmental/lifestyle exposures, genomic and epigenomic information, disease outcomes and intermediate phenotypes in large prospective studies
2. Epigenetics and gene environment interactions in Parkinson's disease: a HuGeF-Imperial College collaborative project
3. A comprehensive study of genetic susceptibility and acquired mutations in bladder cancer etiology and survival
4. Use of metformin and the risk of cancer in the EPIC cohort
5. Multiple primary tumours: incidence and risk factors

2014 Publications

2013 Publications

2012 Publications

2011 Publications