External link to the Research Unit website
Epigenetics

Definition: The chromosomes of a cell consist of DNA molecules associated with nucleosomes, transcription factors and regulatory proteins known collectively as chromatin. Epigenetic modifications are modifications of the chromatin, which leave DNA sequence unaltered but can affect DNA accessibility resulting in the activation or prevention of the expression
of certain genes. Chromatin modifications are instructions that mark specific DNA regions to contribute to their regulation either by direct modification of the DNA molecule, such as DNA methylation, or by modification of the proteins associated to the DNA which are molecular marks with either activating or repressing activity.

Innovative aspects: Epigenetic modifications in response to environmental and developmental signals dictate development, cell reprogramming, and cancer by controlling gene expression. The transcription of eukaryotic genes is always accompanied by changes in epigenetic states of the DNA. We are interested in understanding the mechanisms that regulate the
combination of various histone modifications and to decipher the histone code which dictate specific outcomes of transcription to understand and possibly to influence cell fate.

Added value: The work in this laboratory combines cellular, molecular, and genomic approaches to define the regulatory network between transcriptional regulatory proteins and chromatin modifications on a whole-genome basis.

Head of Unit: Salvatore Oliviero
Phone +39 0116706498
salvatore.oliviero@hugef-torino.org
Download Salvatore Oliviero's CV

Research Group
Daniela Dettori, Post-doc - daniela.dettori@hugef-torino.org
Francesco Neri, Post-doc - francesco.neri@hugef-torino.org
Anna Krepelova PhD Student - anna.krepelova@hugef-torino.org
Caterina Parlato, technician - caterina.parlato@hugef-torino.org
Danny Incarnato, PhD Student - danny.incarnato@hugef-torino.org
Stefania Rapelli, PhD Student - stefania.rapelli@hugef-torino.org
Mara Maldotti, Fellow - mara.maldotti@hugef-torino.org

Ongoing projects:
1. Role of Myc in the of Stem Cells pluripotency
2. Role of Myc in the generation of cancer stem cells
3. Analysis of epigenetic mutations in the cell differentiation

2014 Publications

2013 Publications

2012 Publications

2011 Publications